It’s time to nominate someone for the 19th annual William (Bill) Swinimer Business Leader of the Year Award.

“This will be the 19th year for this award and we welcome this opportunity to highlight and thank the many small businesses that provide jobs in the community as well as sponsoring many community events,” said event organizer Betsy Gross. 

“Orillia has a vibrant and exciting business community and this award is meant to thank dynamic leaders for adding to the many reasons we are happy to work, live and play in this wonderful city,” said event organizer Betsy Gross said.

Nominees must be respected business leaders, owners, managers and/or CEOs in Orillia or the surrounding townships, said Gross.

Gross has nomination forms available. However, she recommends people submit a cover letter that describes the nominee’s accomplishments and character and speaks to their business success, community involvement and why the person is worthy of this prestigious award.

The deadline for nominations is March 30.

The William (Bill) Swinimer Business Leader of the Year Award will be presented at an award dinner to be held at Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club on April 21.

For more information and to obtain a nomination form, call Gross at 705-259-2253 or email [email protected].

Previous winners include Jim Wilson, Gini Stringer, Ken Forbes, John Weber, Jim Dykes, Doug Downey, Brian Nichols, Mike Davenport, Paul Larche, Tom Ruff, Sarah Valliquette and Ian Thompson, Chris and Steve Clarke, Bob Brown and Kris Thor, Karen Koprla, Tony Katarynych, Glenn Wagner and Bob and Mary Anne Willsey.

Sponsors of the award are TD Bank, the city’s economic development department, and Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club.

Thanks to proceeds from this annual event, more than $2,800 has been donated to Orillia Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital over the past four years.

Source: OrilliaMatters