RELEASED: September 10, 2015

The Ontario Association of Community Futures Development Corporations will hold its 22nd annual provincial conference Sept. 14 to 16 at Casino Rama.

Hosting this year’s conference is the Orillia Area Community Development Corporation (CDC).

“We are delighted to be working with Wendy Timpano and the staff and board at the Orillia CDC,” said Diana Jedig, executive director of the provincial group. “They have done so much to make us feel welcome and to showcase the area.”

In addition to various business topics, there will be workshops on technology start-up competitions, the added value of the French language in the global business environment and immigrant entrepreneurs’ access to capital. There will be two mobile workshops: Delegates will travel to Chippewas of Rama First Nation to see economic development first-hand; the second mobile tour will visit Ontario’s Lake Country, featuring event-tourism initiatives.

The theme of this year’s conference is Rural Business: A Winning Bet and the opening ceremonies Sept. 14 will feature greetings from Rama Chief Rodney Noganosh, Orillia CDC president Herman van den Berg and provincial president Dianne Adshead. Sheona Kloostra, of Happy at Home Support Services, will talk about her business success and growth and what part the Orillia CDC played in it.

Keynote speakers will be Lauren Friese, founder of, one of the largest online career resources, used by more than four million students, and Janet Podleski, TV personality and No. 1 national bestselling author of cookbooks such as Looney Spoons and Eat, Shrink and Be Merry.

The conference’s awards gala will be held Sept. 15, when one Community Futures Development Corporation will be honoured for a successful initiative in community economic development. Another will be honoured for a successful innovation initiative. The entrepreneur of the year from a selection of nominated clients from Community Futures Development Corporation offices throughout Ontario will also be honoured. Members of the provincial organization also voted on a members’ choice award.


Source: Packet & Times